You must be licensed to bid or work on construction jobs in Nevada.
To find out if a contractor is licensed in Nevada, go to https://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/datamart/nvscbSearchType.do or call 702-486-1100.
To apply for a license, ask for a license packet from:
|State Contractors Board
2310 Corporate Circle, Suite 200
Henderson, NV 89074
Fax: (702) 486-1190
You can also get a license packet from the Reno office:
|State Contractors Board
9670 Gateway Drive, Ste. 100
Reno, NV 89511
Fax: (775) 688-1271
The Board has these primary classifications for contractors:
Classification A: General engineering
Classification B: General building
Classification AB: General building and general engineering
Classification C-1: Plumbing and heating contracting
Classification C-2: Electrical contracting
Classification C-3: Carpentry, maintenance and minor repairs
These classifications also have subclassifications. Check the Contractor's Board website for more information on subclassifications.
You need to give the Board four notarized references verifying that you've had four years of work experience in a classification to apply for a license for it.
When the Board gets your completed application, they'll check it and decide if you're eligible to take the exams they require for licensing. If so, they'll send you an exam registration form to fill in. You must take an exam called the Contractors Management Survey Exam (CMS). It's given once each month by PSI Examinations. For information on the exam contact:
3210 E. Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
Fax: (702) 932-2666
The CMS exam is on:
It's open book and lasts three hours.
To get a license in most of the classifications you also need to pass an exam in that classification. Trade exams are closed book. Exams are on:
A trade exam is given in two sessions -- a three-hour morning session and an afternoon session for three or four hours.
You can get a reading list for the trade part of the exam from the State Contractors Board. The list will tell you which code books, state laws and regulations, technical manuals, and textbooks you need.
Nevada may waive the trade exam if you can verify that you've been actively licensed in that trade in Arizona, California, or Utah for five of the last seven years. However, if you're applying for a plumbing or electrical trade license, you must take the trade exam.
Contractor's license fees: If you want to be licensed in more than one trade you have to apply and pay for it separately. Each license will cost you $300 nonrefundable for the application. It will cost $85 for the one portion CMS exam. A two portion exam will cost $130. A three portion exam will cost $160. It will cost $300 for the license.
You will also need to get a surety bond. The Board sets the amount of the bond. You must also prove you have industrial insurance with the Nevada State Industrial Insurance System. Their phone number is (702) 486-9080.
|Recommended Reading for the CMS Exam
Construction Business and Law Manual for Nevada, PSI, 3210 E. Tropicana Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89121
Business and Project Management for Contractors, NASCLA
Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 624
Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 624
Code of Federal Regulations, 29 CFR 1926/1910
Code of Federal Regulations, 29 CFR 1904
Handy Reference Guide to the Fair Labor Standards Act
Nevada Industrial Insurance Act
The NADA Fact Sheet
The NADA - Your Responsibilities as an Employer
Employment Eligibility Verification, INS Form I-9
Circular E, Employer's Tax Guide
Nevada Mechanic's and Materialmen's Lien Law
Builder's Guide to Accounting by Michael Thomsett (from Craftsman Book Company, P.O. Box 6500, Carlsbad, CA 92018) as a reference for the CMS exam. http://craftsman-book.com
Out-of-state corporations must qualify with the Nevada Secretary of State to do business in the state. For information, contact:
|Secretary of State
101 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4786
Fax: (775) 687-3471
Find an error? Please e-mail the Web Master
© 2001 Craftsman Book Company